What Makes Us Historic.


AAPG was Founded

The AAPG was founded in 1917 and is headquartered in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Since its founding in 1917, the American Association of Petroleum Geologists has been a pillar of the worldwide scientific community. The original purpose of AAPG, to foster scientific research, to advance the science of geology, to promote technology, and to inspire high professional conduct, still guides the Association today.

October 2000

The Birth of AAPG Unpad SC

AAPG Universitas Padjadjaran Student Chapter by its former faculty advisor, Prof. Dr. Edy Sunardy, Ir., M.Sc., was established along with four other AAPG student chapters in UGM, ITB, Trisakti, and UPN since the year 2000.


Outstanding Student Chapter Award

AAPG Unpad SC won the award as The Most Outstanding International Student Chapter for the first time.


Honorable Mention Student Chapter

AAPG Unpad SC received an Honorable Mention of Student Chapter in 2010 for its good performance that year.


2nd Place Winner AAPG Student Chapter YouTube Video Contest 

M. Nurisman Syarif, as the President of AAPG Unpad SC this year, with his team, managed their video profile of AAPG Unpad SC to won the 2nd place AAPG Student Chapter YouTube Video Contest.


1st Place Winner AAPG Student Chapter YouTube Video Contest 

AAPG Unpad SC stikes again! But this time we won the 1st place! Fauzan Aditya Haqiqie and his team confidently won the AAPG Student Chapter YouTube Video Contest in 2018.


L. Austin Weeks Grant Recipient

From 2016 until now, AAPG Unpad SC has always had active members who get the L. Austin Weeks Grant from the AAPG Foundation every year.


Awards Won and Publications

In recent years, we won several competitions, namely :

  • 1st Place Unconventional Resources Essay Competition, Jakarta (2012)

  • 2nd Place Geomodelling Competition Trisakti, Jakarta (2012)

  • 3rd Place Oil & Gas Intellectual Parade, Yogyakarta (2012)

  • 3rd Place Plan of Development Oil Expo, Jakarta (2012)

  • Best Poster Presentation IAGI Annual Convention, Yogyakarta (2012)

  • 2nd Best Speaker at Paper Presentation International Conference on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Management, Tokyo (2017)

  • Paper Publication, 8th ITB International Geothermal Workshop (2019)

  • Best Wildcatter Basin Award, Geoscience Exploration Competition Universitas Indonesia, Jakarta (2020)

  • Paper Publication, International Conference of Geological Engineering Faculty (ICGEF) Universitas Padjadjaran (2021)

  • Paper Publication, Digital Indonesia International Geothermal Convention (2021)

  • 1st Place Winner and Best Speaker at Debate Competition Petroforia IATMI SM STT MIGAS (2021)